Girls with shaved heads

The last year I have noticed the growing amount of girls with shaved heads. I think it looks really cool. It add´s a big edge to the look which i think complimented fx Natalie Portman a lot. She is ofcourse always gorgeous no matter what she does with her hair, but sometimes a little too “pretty” for my taste. I think it takes a little something extra to dare shaving your head as a woman. To many people hair is a huge symbol of femininity & Hollywood is filled with women that think you can´t get enough hair so they add extensions. I have no problem with that though I just think it´s refreshing the other way around. I found some pictures of women who looks great with shaved heads.

 
Model Alek Wek-I think she is so beautiful & I love her name so much that I tried to convince my husband to name our youngest Alek. He thought it was a weird name though-haha.
I don´t know much about Amber Rose, but she rocks the shaved look.
French model & actress Noemie Lenoir-her beauty is out of this world.
Model Eve Salvail. You might remember her as the model with the dragon tattoo on her head. What a face!

Natalie Portman shaved her head for the part in V for Vendetta. Her head and gorgeous face is perfect for the no hair-due.

What do you think? Do you rather like these women with hair or is either great?

Tagged , , , ,

141 thoughts on “Girls with shaved heads

  1. smileyac24 says:

    Very true. I’m not sure I’m brave enough!

  2. smileyac24 says:

    Reblogged this on smileyac24 and commented:
    TRUE

  3. tjremp says:

    i HATE my hair, but i don’t think i could ever pull this off. but these women look amazing. it’s all about their killer confidence.

  4. bpreethi says:

    Can’t say I havent thought about this 🙂 Mostly when I have bad hair days heh!

    • monicaali says:

      I came very close last year, but my hair looks ridiculous when it´s very short-it just wont lie down on my head unless I use a jar of wax-haha

  5. edebock says:

    Several years ago, as part of a cancer fundraiser at the school I was teaching at, I had my head shaved bald. I absolutely loved it! The look was awesome and it was so incredibly easy to take care of. My hair is thick and wavy so I’m always fighting with it. The only problem with the bald look was the fact that it grew out way too fast. If people didn’t automatically think of a bald woman as a cancer victim, I’d probably shave it off again.

    • monicaali says:

      Wow-you are one kick-ass woman!

      • edebock says:

        Wouldn’t you know it… I’ve recently been diagnosed with cancer and I’m NOT going to lose my hair! That would have been the only good thing about this! Seriously though, I’m thankful that mine is a very rare chronic cancer that can be controlled with radioisotope treatments and I won’t have to go through chemo.

      • monicaali says:

        I hope you are recovering well. I’m happy for you that you wont loose your hair. no one looks really pretty ehen they are not feeling beautiful. It should absolutely only happen if one choose to loose the hair, but sadly it’s not for us to choose.

  6. I would never have the nerve to do it, but I think it looks cool and can only imagine how empowering it must feel.

    • monicaali says:

      Yeah-many of us kind of hide benhind our hairí, but I Think many women would look good shaved and eyemakeup to get the focus to the eyes.

  7. Lisa says:

    Good point! I don’t know if I would shave mine (I’ve thought about it), but I have been debating getting a pixie cut for months!

    Thanks for the like, btw. 😉

  8. jusnay says:

    This post expresses everything I stand for, I loved when I shaved me hair off wow what an experience,saying that I’ve done it about 4 times blessing
    JusNay x

    • monicaali says:

      shaved heads rocks! I bet you looked beautiful! I am actually pleasently surprised that so many liked this post. I thought that I was kind of alone on loving the shaved head look : )

      • jusnay says:

        Aww thank you,check out my blog I’ve posted some pictures

        I feel a lot of women should embrace what they have and the way they look,don’t be afraid to put yourself out there for the fear of what looks good,or doesn’t .once again salute!

      • monicaali says:

        so true : )

  9. Sarah Jordan says:

    I’ve never had short hair…I have no idea what my head looks like. I think Natalie Portman looks amazing!

    • monicaali says:

      I think it looks great on most people as long as their backhead is not too flat. And if you have thick thick asian hair like me-you have to use a lot of gel. That is why I won´t do it. I don´t like too many products in my hair.

  10. CM Richard says:

    I pride myself on being able to find the beauty in any woman. Although I wouldn’t say I’m particularly attracted to women with shaved heads, it wouldn’t necessarily disqualify them.

  11. ivorywrieger says:

    I think Sinead O’Connor was absolutely breathtaking, back in the day. And Sigourney Weaver for her stint as Ripley in Alien 3. I think women who shave their heads instantly get respect for being brave and strong, so I’m all for it. That said, with no hair, I think you can’t be lazy about your style. You don’t really get license to have a “down” day on the look or you come across as a slouch.

    The closest I got was a Chelsea, so shaved down to a fine peach fuzz with a long fringe that framed the face. Sounds ugly but was super cute and so easy to deal with. I bleached it white blonde so it was definitely a harder look. And, of course, no good pictures to share.

    Great post!

    • monicaali says:

      Thanks : ) Too bad you don´t have photos. I agree that you can´t really have lazy days. Makeup is kind of necessary to look good & a feminine look when it comes to clothing.

  12. roxmt says:

    Shaving my head is most definitely on my bucket list…as soon as I reache my goal of growing it waist it will be alllllll gone! (and donated, of course!)

  13. Janet says:

    It would certainly save a lot of money! And just think… no hedging on “how do I wear my hair tonight?’… LOL You ever worn a knit stocking cap pulled tight over your head? Gives you a good idea of what you would look like with no hair… never seen anyone (with a stocking cap on) that did not look extra striking…. maybe not as beautiful as the ladies in this article , but still interesting and eye catching !

    • monicaali says:

      : ) Yeah it would save a lot of people a lot of money. Hairdye, hairdresser, shampoo and accessories for the hair.

  14. Personally, I think my head is too big. It takes a lot of boldness & confidence to do the shaved head.

    • monicaali says:

      I agree on the- not- everybody -has- a- headshape that will look good shaved. But I wish people would stop caring what others think. For the past two years I have learned to stop caring about what others think-& I love it : )

  15. LOVE! These women’s faces need no accessory, they are all gorgeous! ❤

  16. They are all Gorgeous!!
    I wish i could join that trend, but i will never be brave enough to sans hair.
    I am debating a emma watson though.

  17. I must say I love a great looking androgenous Gal with a shaved head , beats a bad weave any day 🙂

  18. Reblogged this on RachellaurenStyle. and commented:
    All though i will never have the confidence or probably a nice looking bald head to ever go this far with my hair, i do believe it is Inspiring to see BEAUTIFUL! girls challenge the boundary’s of feminism! I have to say that these girls look amazing, I’m certainly not saying “Go get the clippers” but there is a certain enviable thing about these women which i can’t put my finger on. Confidence? Brave? or the edge to stand out from the crowd of girl’s these days covered in bad weaves and too-long clip ins. Its Very Refreshing to know that in this day and age We are thinking more about “What Is Beautiful?” rather than “What does society say is Beautiful?”
    You never Know it could be on my bucket list one Day!

    Rachellauren xx

  19. Cara Olsen says:

    About every 3 weeks or so, I am able to play hair dresser when my husband’s mane grows to unmanageable proportions. Occasionally, usually in the summer, he’ll beg me to shave his gorgeous head of hair, to which I usually acquiesce with a cringe. BUT — I can’t tell you how many times I’ve considered doing the same to myself . . . I have horribly thin hair and if I don’t tame it with a frizz controlling hair gel or a flat iron, it is liable to hurt people. Maybe someday I’ll work up the guts to actually do it.

    I think, though, one thing is absolutely necessary if you are to adopt this hairstyle: a perfectly round head.

    Blessings!
    Cara

    • monicaali says:

      Do you think you will do it at some point?

      • Cara Olsen says:

        You know, as a grown woman, confident that her beauty does not stem from anything physical, I would like to say, “yes.” But I am not sure the insecure child living inside would ever let me. As a little girl, she was told she was ugly so many times, that even now, married and considered pretty by some, she still believes it.

      • monicaali says:

        That´s horrible : ( Don´t believe the dumb bullies.

      • Cara Olsen says:

        I would not go back an undue that terrible time in my life; it has made who I am today: compassionate, understanding, and one who seeks to look past surfaces. It’s funny, isn’t it? How our struggles can in turn make us better people? 🙂

      • monicaali says:

        yeah- We learning a lot times. Luckily they are more than bad : )

  20. Modmissy says:

    Bravo to anyone who takes that big step and goes ‘topless’. All of the above ladies are stunning.

  21. I like hair, particularly long hair, but these girls are still attractive without it.

    • monicaali says:

      I also love All lenghts of hair, but would like for women not to always stay “safe”. It’s just hair & it Will grow out. The last year I have been trying a lot of different hairstyles & I love it. It is so nice to be able to take quick showers & not have tangled hair or feel that I look the same all the time.

  22. spinoza1111 says:

    You are a DOLL to like Peter’s Crazy Teacher!

    When Sinead O’Connor appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone in the Nineties I was like aaaaarrrrrroooooooogggggggghhhhh girl of my dreams. But this was the whole deal, not just her bald head: the beauty and power of her music and the way she spoke out on Saturday Night Live against the Pope, a moment of spontaneity rare even then which reminded me of the Sixties.

    • monicaali says:

      : )
      I feel the same way. It´s not only the lack of hair that is interesting, but the personality that goes along because this world is so concerned with hair. Whether it is having hair on your head or elsewhere-you are kind of a freak if you don´t remove hair certain places. But who made that a rule that most of us blindly follows??!! We don´t want to be the odd one who doesn´t shave armpits do we?!

      • spinoza1111 says:

        I’m from the Sixties for real and I’ve never understand the tyranny of hair fashions, where “fashion” is a word with different connotations than “rule” AS IF we always choose fashion but must follow the rule, whereas in fashion we are simply following rules set by peer pressure: my generation got rid of rule following only to see our kids go crazy about the opinions of their peers in a new Fashion Fascism.

        I wrote this poem about it

        There is a girl who lives in the Ritz
        And you know they say she don’t have her armpits
        I live at the Crillon
        And I don’t shave my own
        So hip hip hooray for the girl in the Ritz

  23. fashionblogy says:

    Love how it brings out the great bone structure on these women! Great post

  24. Sally says:

    Great, provocative post – what does hair (or lack thereof) mean for being a woman? I love the idea of shaving your head in order to donate the hair to Locks of Love (wigs for cancer victims). Members of swim teams and football teams shave their heads together to prepare mentally for a big match. I wonder what statement it would make if a bunch of women with a common cause did it together? Would it make it less scary for any one woman to know she was not alone?

  25. These girls look beautiful, especially Natalie Portman! They have the faces for it, you know? I, however look not so great even with my hair back. I need my hair, eek!

  26. wollee says:

    I have cut my hair pretty short but not that short, it is probably the one thing I have not done to my hair. . . . yet 🙂

  27. stepvoss says:

    Nice – I’m about ready to let my hair go gray, after coloring it to be a bit redder than nature provided for about 30 years. The only way to do it right is to cut it really short…. You’ve inspired me to think about shaving. I might wait until a few more pounds drop off though — I think I’d feel like a pinhead!

    Thanks for the Inspiring photos.

  28. Romysway says:

    I actually think they all look amazing with the shaved heads. For one they are all gorgeous so the look works for them, although I’m not sure if it’s a look everyone should try. I dream about being that bold, but I’m so attached to my hair. I’m sure that I would cry. Lol

    • monicaali says:

      Yes indeed they were beautiful to begin with, but I think because of that they had a lot of pressure on their shoulders to always be pretty. The media can be so harsh. I think that if you are not very flat in the back of your head & you are comfortable in your body-you will look great. But I strongly advise to use a little more eyemakeup than usual since all the focus will be on your eyes.

  29. Great blog keep writing good stuff.

  30. I am definitely NOT brave enough, although my bald husband really wishes I would!!
    These women are very striking, and look amazing with or without hair, I just don’t think I could pull it off!

    • monicaali says:

      I understand. Without hair you would have to look your best when it comes to makeup every single day. With hair you can hide a bit : )

  31. natasiarose says:

    I love this post! I shaved a chunk of my hair and I love rocking it out. I don’t think there is anything hotter in the world than Demi in GI Jane 😉

  32. Christina says:

    These women are so beautiful! Don’t know if I would have the confidence to do it.

  33. Emma says:

    So my hair is already pretty short right now, but it grows out so fast that I have been seriously contemplating shaving it… This is great inspiration.

    wingandwell.wordpress.com

  34. rockitruby says:

    Every time I see those pics of Natalie Portman, I have to restrain myself from grabbing hubby’s clippers & going at my hair. Unfortunately for me, I have a 2″ scar from skin cancer running along my scalp (too many sunburns down my pigtail part), so I don’t think my shorn scalp would be quite as attractive. But women with shaved heads burn with a fierce kind of beauty, like staring at the sun.

    • monicaali says:

      She is so gorgeous! I think scars are quite charming, but your scars have such a sad story. I hate cancer. Glad you survived it : ) & you´re right about shaved heads on women. They look fierce : )

  35. hannahbullimore says:

    i think you have to have strong features and a lot of confidence. I just couldn’t be without my hair, I feel ill just getting my hair cut into a bob, my hairs my strength and my shield. I think you have to have a lot of confidence in your self and be prepared to feel watched all of the time! It does look really good though and on the right person!

  36. chibiPanda says:

    Yeah, I did this when I was in Junior high. I don’t like how I look then, tho. I think my face is way too round to be able to pull this off. It does cut personal care time, tho.

    The girls in the picture seems to be carrying the look off very well…

  37. Sexy, sexy. If you have style & confidence, you can make any look work.

  38. DeMorrieaux says:

    Love it!
    Shaved my hair off three times myself.
    I absolutely adored that look.
    Got compliments from both guys and girls 😉
    It’s not something I think every one can do, as you have to be really beautiful (I think) to rock that look- no hair to hide beneath, nothing to distract from any weird features.
    It’s more or less like being totally naked. Haha.
    Love it!

    • monicaali says:

      Make up would be a must in my eyes. The makeup can steal the focus & make the person very feminine.

  39. gpoovan says:

    Stunning beauty. One of my best gal-friend shaved her head. She looks beautiful as well, but I never tell her

  40. Becky J. says:

    Thanks for visiting carefreecomposition.com. I appreciate the blog like.

  41. Thegirl says:

    There si beautiful !!! Ive considred having my head shaved

  42. njenva says:

    I had always wanted to shave my hair and my mum had been fighting it for the longest time. Until I grew up and realized that I had serious bumps at the back of my head. If I would have shaved my hair, people would be going like ‘aaaawwww, what happened to you?’ 🙂

    Thanks for visiting njenvasrambling!

    • monicaali says:

      Too bad that you have those bumps-but then again you are keeping your mom happy-that also counts ; )

  43. My head’s too small to carry this look

  44. chicalarusse says:

    Agreed! It takes a daring spirit to pull that one off!

    I remember when I shaved mine, I think I was around 16… That was a lot of fun and somewhat misunderstood 😉

    http://chicalarusse.com/

  45. Reblogged this on Vivianne's Blog and commented:
    Check out these beauties rocking the shaved head trend!! I absolutely adore Noemie Lenoir. Who’s your favourite?

  46. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. i absolutely love this post, even had it reblogged. Xoxo!

  47. Cool article! When I see a woman with with a shaved head… it say’s, she’s confident, oozing of esteem and full of vigor. I love it!

  48. onomebuzz says:

    Love the look but i think im not bold enough.

  49. jusnay says:

    @UKnaturals: NEW LOOK: Naomi’s New Look: http://youtu.be/qDQoEVijOt8 via @youtube #naturalhair #teamnatural. Check me out ladies and gents tell me what you think,this will be one of many times that I’ve shaved my hair xx

  50. omidewa says:

    hmmmmmm well they look pretty even bald not every one has this courage to do this.

    • monicaali says:

      No, that´s why I love that these women did it. It´s saying that they do as they feel like. They don´t care what the masses think about them-it´s just not important.

  51. omidewa says:

    Well they look pretty even bald.

  52. logoseller says:

    Thanks for the like.

  53. Linda says:

    My mother pressured me since childhood to have very short hair. After high school, I have had it long ever since. Like really long at times. Even though my mom is long gone and I am in my 60’s, I will probably never go short. It all about being spiteful huh?

  54. dejafashion says:

    Hi,
    Firstly thank for liking my post about Vidal Sassoon! I do hope you come back and visit http://dejafashion.wordpress.com
    I am a huge fan of the shaved head look. I think you have to have an extremely unique face for this look; I think it’s mostly about the eyes.
    How do you feel about the half-shave look that’s going on right now?
    x x

  55. I wanted to get a pixie cut over a year ago, but my stylist did not allow it!

  56. JenWHY says:

    I think very few women would actually suit a skin head. I live in Glasgow and I think everyone would think you had became a Neo Nazi or had an unfortunate experience with headlice. A few years ago however I shaved part of my head. I had really long dark curly hair at the time and my mum freaked(even though I was 23). I must admit that it was the best haircut I’ve ever had. Actually I wonder where those clippers are . . .

    Jenny x

    • monicaali says:

      Really??? A neo nazi or lice??? I think the tendency in Denmark would be that some would assume that you had chemo even if you are not bald like an eight ball & still have eyebrows.

      • JenWHY says:

        Yeh! Only because Glasgow is full of orange, too much make up and extensions type girls and no one would understand why you would possible want to do it. I actually don’t think I have ever seen a girl with a skinhead in Glasgow in my 25 years of living here!

        I would enjoy the low maintenance of it but I think my face is too round and I MIGHT look like a baby!

        x

      • monicaali says:

        LOL-you´re right about the do don´t fit all headshapes

  57. chocolemony says:

    monicaaali i really really love this post and have thought about shaving my own head a few times but something just happens………have had a short bob but never bald.I guess when i get the clippers the courage falters!
    btw i really love your blogs and thanks for checking out mine.

    • monicaali says:

      Hi Chocolemony : ) thank you for your sweet comment! Shaved hair or not-short hair is really cool & I like changing my hair having had long hair for the most of my life.

  58. Those people are so pretty! The hair cut looks really god on them and they are so pretty. I don’t think that it would have the same pretty effect on me though… by the way thanks soooo much for liking my post on my blog :)!

  59. I love my TWA (Teeny weeny afro) but its great to have so many options as women! Hair is hair and our beauty shines through no matter what style we rock 🙂

  60. Ritzz says:

    I’ve done a lot of crazy things to my hair the past few years. I shaved off all but the top of my hair, as well as had the sides shaved. When I decided to start growing it out, i wanted to shave it all off to grow evenly, but my family wouldn’t let me. Long curly hair is so hard to manage! But i love the look, and wow Natalie Portman is stunning!

  61. […] Confident Beauty – Girls With Shaved Heads […]

Leave a Reply

