M.I.A pokes Saudi Arabia

Yesterday my friend Thordis ( sorry about the misspelling, but I don´t have the icelandic alphabet) from Iceland put this video on my facebook wall. It´s M.I.A´s new video “Bad Girls”. The video is one of the best video´s I have seen in a long time. First of all I love M.I.A´s sense of fashion. She is so good at putting outfits together in my opinion. I also just love her face. She is so beautiful. Anyway the video takes place in a desert. It´s filled with guys dressed traditional saudi style. I think saudi males look cool in their white clothing & their big scarfs with headband-and most likely a big expensive watch plus leathersandals with big crossover straps.  The women are covered up but not exactly like the average saudi woman as their dress is printed and their jewelry show. Women are racing in pimped out cars & as many of you might know women are not allowed to drive in Saudi Arabia. The video is confetti to my eyes. lt is so explosive and raw.  So this is M.I.A´s way of criticizing the Saudi government & I love it-I love her way of doing it. You can see the video right here.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

