La Glace…more cake, more Copenhagen!

Last month my daughter earned her childrens black belt in taekwondo & we ofcourse wanted to celebrate her. She has great taste & chose to go to La Glace. It´s this adorable  time capsule from year 1870 with these luxurious cakes in layers & lot´s of tea. It´s located at the walking street also known as Strøget.

All kinds of people at all ages come here. I recommend the “Sportscake”-not sure why it´s called that. It´s quite heavy : )

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “La Glace…more cake, more Copenhagen!

  1. You know… i have NEVER had a macaroon…. I know… random comment. LOL

  2. Sheryl says:

    Great photos! I love cakes with plastic pillars in the middle. The one with white icing roses brings back memories of wedding cakes when I was young.

  3. i had my first macaroon the other day. it was delicious, reminds me of christmas though for some reason. btw you are the best mum, what a great treat!

  4. Sheyla says:

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing.

  5. meganchapple says:

    I want those cakes!

  6. miapapadia says:

    We should ask scientists to invent a way to send sweets through e-mails :)) LOL Those look absolutely delicious! … oh and I have never had a macaroon either and since they are everywhere… i have “the craving” 😛

    • monicaali says:

      That would be nice-yum! : ) You should give it a go. My favorites are chocolate & rose ( rose is really good even though it sounds disgusting).

      • miapapadia says:

        Thank you for your recommendation! I will most certainly have a bite out of each color 😛 I am very curious by nature. First I will have the chocolate and rose ones! 😀

  7. oh wow….what a find…this makes me want to go back to copenhagen!!!!

  8. myspanishtranslator says:

    Looks awesome, yum, yum! 🙂

  9. What a sweet memory to create with your daughter. She does appear to have great taste- this place looks fabulous, and I am now daydreaming about macaroons. ha.

    • monicaali says:

      It was so nice to go out with her on this special occasion : ) I could also really need some macaroons right about now!

  10. Assia S. says:

    Lovely post, I’m a fan as well even though I haven’t been there a lot! I’ve heard that the reason they call it “Sportscake” is that’s it’s so full and fattening so the name is completely sarcastic 🙂
    Also you haven’t lived before you’ve eaten a French macaroon, they are simply divine! I had one when I was in Antwerpen, Belgium, last summer and they are made from almond flour, or simply crushed almonds, and have a creme filling in the center. They taste so good and you don’t have to eat a lot to feel satisfied. Mmmmm, now I want a macaroon…

    • monicaali says:

      Hahaha-love that it´s sarcastic : ) Uhm…macarons! They are so expensive in Copenhagen though…

  11. leilra says:

    This is so cool (: thanks for sharing your travels.

Leave a Reply

