Northern Copenhagen streetart

Some time ago I went for a walk in my old hood. It´s the place for young artist & cool shops & a lot of streetart. It is also sort of a rough place, but if you live there – you don´t really notice it. When I grew up it was a working class neighborhood & slowly with the globalization a lot of refugees and foreign workers from Asia, the Middleeast & Africa came moved in. The northern part slowly transformed with all the new entrepreneurs. Like a lot of other countries some minorities had the same sort of shops. Fx here a lot of people from the Pakistani minority have newsstands, Turkish immigrants have pizzabakeries, Arabic immigrants seem to be butchers, hairdressers & greengrocers. I love it, because a lot of things are so much easier now. I remember the days where we used to go to other parts of Copenhagen to get good prices on meat & vegetables. This part of Copenhagen is very much alive all the time. I took a few pictures of some art & some weird toys also caught my eye. Have a look : )

Tosomhed means being two together & not being alone.  I like this a lot. Notice how high it is on the wall. Graffiti painters often like to take risks & paint in places that seems impossible to reach. It always makes me go “Wow!” & it gets to stay for a long time, because it´s up there.

See the dinosaur? Makes me smile every time I see it.

What the hell is that?! A babyhead stuck on a dinosaurs body?!!!

And another weird toy. Creepy toy.

The metro is being expanded the next 6 years & people are mostly pissed because they chose to close half of the city park down to build it. But they have put up some fun art to make up for it. They are miniatures of buildings from the neighborhood. I especially love that they made a miniature of what was called “Ungdomshuset”. It was torn down about 5 years ago, but was a place for young people that took over this house that no one used. They had a lot of concerts & a lot of political activity going on. A lot of people love them because they dare to be different & rebel & a lot of people hate them because they attract troublemakers-they are fx known for smashing a lot of windows.

& oh-do you see the red brick building with the white windows & grey dish antennas? I could not help laughing seeing this building. A friend of mine grew up there & it looks ridiculous with all the antennas. He explained that a lot of his neighbors are immigrants who wants to be able to watch tv from their homeland & it´s very prestitugious to own an antenna instead of sharing one with your neighbors. Hahahaha. I find that sooo funny & aparently I am not the only one.

Here is also a house called Stengade 30 where I used to spend a lot of time. I used to go to a lot of hip hop jams in my young days. I was also a place that hosted tons of metalconcerts & a lot of people from “Ungdomshuset” used to come as well. It was not a place for the social norm as it was pretty beat up & a subcultural thing.

Here you see a nightclub called Rust. I have been there hundreds of times. They use to host a lot of concerts.

I hope you enjoyed the pictures. I was very inspired by the city that day. If you are from Copenhagen you should definitely check it out. Hope you all get to have a nice & lazy sunday!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Northern Copenhagen streetart

  1. How interesting to see the very same toys I use to see as well.
    And even more interesting to know that Copenhagen is still so very nostalgic, the fusion of old and today. I hardly see these things in Singapore, its a rare find.
    Thoroughly enjoyed your little tour 🙂

    • monicaali says:

      Happy that you liked it : ) And yes Copenhagen is packed with beautiful historic buildings. I will do a post about it some time.
      I would love to go to Singapore. I can imagine it´s a beautiful place : )

  2. CokaRabbit says:

    those toys are really creepy and funny!!! 😀

  3. Devorah says:

    I find it so interesting to see pictures and hear about other cities and countries people grew up in.
    I also love when a place is multi cultural. That’s why I love NY!
    Great post!

  4. I must say it was nice to see “your old hood” through the lens/photographs. and as an earlier post said those toys were creepy, LOL

  5. love this post! so cool1 would love to go to Copenhagen some day 😉

    • monicaali says:

      Copenhagen would love to have you : )

      • thank you so much! hahahaha! i wish i could leave today!my father , Vincent Farrell, painted a gorgeous painting of Copenhagen, he loved the city and i will have to find a photo of that painting somewhere. have a great day!
        vanessa

      • monicaali says:

        Cool that your father have been here! I would love to see a picture of the painting if you find one.

  6. soopafishl says:

    Hi Monica, thank you for visiting my site 🙂 Great blog! I love the graffiti in this post

Leave a Reply

