Haruki Murakami´s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

murakami

Haruki

Hi darlings! I sure missed you guys while resting with the family! I did have a great time though. Did you have a great christmas & a happy new year? Hope you got some great christmas presents-maybe fashionable also? I will show you what I got soon. First I have to share with you this book I just finished. I like to unwind with a good book & this one is by Haruki Murakami, which is a Japanese author. Luckily for all of us much of his work has been translated to English & other languages. If you don´t know him you might love his stuff if you are into magic realism.  He masters the genre by being very humoristic, intriguing & very surreal. If you are Danish you can read the text in the second picture & if not you can visit your local library to read it.  Without giving too much away its main character is a young man named Toru Okada whose cat disappeared. His wife suggests that he talks to a psychic about the cat & from here it all changes very drastic.  His wife leaves him without him (or me) seeing it coming & he starts to get very weird telephone calls. Throughout the book dots are connected & you get a sense of every action affects something you never realized could be affected. Kind of like the butterfly effect I guess-you know the one that says that if If a butterfly flaps its wings, it could be causing a tornado somewhere else. Anyway I really enjoyed it. Maybe you also will : )

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Haruki Murakami´s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

  1. caroline1t says:

    One step ahead of you, he’s one of my favourite authors! You have to read Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World and Dance, Dance, Dance (that’s an old one). Oh I love this post!!!!!

  2. bamboogirl says:

    I read this book in 2001 and found it a perfect novel with a little surreal, fantastic, crazy, dreamlike, existential, and everything in between. I think I stayed up and read it in 3 days! Since then, I’ve probably devoured all but a few of his books, but some of his short stories and even non-fiction writing are amazingly well crafted. Enjoy and thank you for reminding me about his work! I need a cozy weekend read soon and he’s a perfect author for that..

    • monicaali says:

      You´re welcome : ) I felt kind of like you. It was so hard to put the book down & go to sleep. Looking forward to reading more since I´ve only read this & Kafka on the beach.xo Monica

Leave a Reply

