Handmade bamboo Ikat rugs by The Rug Company

 

sc_bamboo-ikat-black_fth

 

Picture this rug at your house. So beautiful. Due to my fathers passion for handmade rugs I really love handmade rugs. The quality really is something else. They will last forever if you take good care of them. The Rug Company takes handmade rugs to a new level by adding beautiful design. The Rug Company recently launched this new Ikat collection. And you might be wondering what Ikat is: it´s an ancient dyeing technique that has this blurred look-often applied to silk fabrics, but here it´s bamboo. This makes me happy since bamboo is sustainable. It grows really fast, you don´t have to plant new plants since it keeps shooting ( it´s grass), it consumes carbon dioxide, you can use it like wood or make clothes. & the appearance is very similar to silk.

sc_bamboo-ikat-blue_f

 

I think this one is my favorite.

sc_bamboo-ikat-charcoal_fth

sc_bamboo-ikat-pale_fth

 

For more gorgeous rugs take a look here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Handmade bamboo Ikat rugs by The Rug Company

  1. caroline1t says:

    What gorgeous rugs, I’m really liking that second one. That’s funny I also grew up with a father who had a great love of handmade rugs!

    • monicaali says:

      Really?!!! That’s so funny! And awesome : ) My dad lived in several countries in the Middle East, where he sold handmade rugs before I was born. Wish he was here still to show me where he lived and teach me about the rugs : )

  2. beautiful rugs, i want them all!

    I’ve nominated you for the ‘Liebster Award’ xx

    http://ladiesofleisurelondon.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/the-liebster-award/

  3. I am literally obsessed with all of these!

Leave a Reply

