Happy birthday to me- I am no longer 33

Today is my birthday & like last year I will write one thing for each year that you probably didn´t know about me.

1: My first pet was a yellow budgerigar. His name was Skipper. A few days ago my mom dropped a bomb on me. Skipper didn´t fly away. My dad killed it by accident while I wasn´t home. My dad took his secret with him in the grave. Hahaha. They hurried out & bought me another yellow bird & my poor dad felt so bad.

2: I can always drink a cup of tea-with milk. Preferable is my mom´s shirchai ( shir means milk & chai is tea).

3: I have a big dragon tattoo on the left side of my body. I had it made in the late 90´s. I still like it, but at times I have thought-what the hell were you thinking?! A freakin dragon??? Why not a huge rose or a big ol´ ship?!!! I have come to peace with the fact that tattoo motives can´t be cool forever. Like fashion everything changes.

4: I am muslim-but I promise that I´m only terrorizing my credit card ; )

5: My great grandfather had several wives-I know-very exotic. Today it´s unusual for a man to have several wives, cause no women wants to put up with that. Good for them.

6: I wish my husband didn´t have an opinion about home decor. How great would it be if I could just choose & never compromise about furniture…

7: Motherhood really made me soft. I often feel like crying when watching “Cold Case” or “Extreme makeover-home edition”- hahaha.

8: The best thing about finishing my degree has been that I´ve been able to read stuff that I want to read. I haven´t done that for years, because I was always supposed to be studying.

9: I miss my babysis. Last year she married a Canadian & moved over there. It´s weird that she´s not around, but now I have the best excuse to go to Canada : )

10: As a parent I have to pick up the kids at their friends homes once in a while & I love it. I get to see so many beautiful homes.

11: I wish I had endless energy & time to learn more new stuff. Learn more languages, do more volunteer work, get another master degree, play instruments & so on.

12: I hate the feeling of always wanting more stuff. All those evil designers keep making more great stuff for me to want.

13: My husband & I made a deal not to spend any money on clothes unless we are traveling. Ouch! All four of us has too much clothes so it´s time to stop buying for now. But don´t worry I have so much cool new stuff in my closet that I haven´t shown you-so there is enough material for the blog-haha.

14: But birthdays are great for getting new stuff without spending! & my family gave me a trip to Paris-wiiii!!! Lucky me! & there I can shop a little Isabel Marant & such ; )

15: I am looking very much forward to spring. I miss sitting in what I like to call our front yard. It´s a public park called Kings garden ( King Christian the 4.´s former home is in the garden). It´s such a pretty place & there are little pretty gardens that you can enjoy in peace.

16: I´m allergic to furry animals. I have trouble breathing among them & my nose starts to run-very nice. The good thing is though that I have the best excuse to never get pets. Sorry kids ; )

17: I love the Kardashians. It´s kind of a no no to say that out loud here in Europe. But I can´t pick one favorite. They are all adorable.

18: I also love Zoey Deschanel. She is so cool & quirky. I had no idea that she is Bones´ sister. One day I was sitting thinking that she talks a little funny & that she sounds like someone else. & then it hit me-it´s Bones!!! They are sisters. Man they talk weird, but I like it.

19: If I was asked to make my own perfume. It would have notes of parsley in it. Uhm…it the best smell in the world.

20: I sometimes wonder about all the stories that will never be told. It´s weird that those with power decide what will be known as the truth or history.

21: I have never met anyone from my fathers side of the family. It bothers me a little. I can imagine that adopted people can feel very curious & annoyed that they don´t know their biological family. It´s weird & shouldn´t matter who our families are-when we´ve never met them. Never had the opportunity to meet them. But it still does.

22: My youngest daughter melted my heart yesterday when she told me, that she wants to be just like me.

23: Cherries might be my favorite fruit.

24: I love roasted hazelnuts.

25: I can´t figure out why there aren´t any Danish dodgeball federation. Everybody loves dodgeball!!!

26: At the moment I´m reading Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie. He is such a great writer.

27: The first boy band I liked as a kid was Bros. Do any of you guys remember them?

28: I have never really been fascinated by actors, but I had a huge crush on Edward Furlong who is mostly known for Terminator 2.

29: I´m looking forward to eating fresh peas this summer with my children.

30: I think that everybody should have a duvet. Up here in the cold north we all have one & can´t live without them. I always miss mine when I´m in other countries.

31: This time at Copenhagen fashionweek I saw the most beautiful navy coat. I was ankle long, wool & by Carin Wester. I want….

32: I love that you never know which fading brand will rise again. Right now I´m thinking Carven, Adidas & Kenzo. And a couple of years ago Céline.

33: I am getting really tired of dogshit all over the city. People were really good for some years, but now they have gotten lazy. It´s disgusting.

34: Friends are one of my all time favorite shows.

16 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me- I am no longer 33

  1. caroline1t says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! This is a really great post!

  2. Jeyinti says:

    Happy Birthdaaaaaay!!!!!!!! Xo, Jey

  3. Jeyinti says:

    Love your list btw!!!

  4. Congratulations!
    You have such a great blog!
    Maybe we can follow each other? x

  5. sjvella says:

    Happy Birthday 🙂 and nice list btw

  6. The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.
    ~Oprah Winfrey
    Happy Birthday, thanks for sharing your list + keep celebrating life~

  7. shiroknowes says:

    Congratulations and have a beautiful evening !!! Yes I remember Bros I found them to be cool and I’m also crazy for hazelnuts. Now I get to know you a little more, thanks it was fun !

    • monicaali says:

      When will I – will I be famous?!!! Hahaha-they were awesome & really not very boyband – like. Happy you liked the post : )

  8. suddensnap says:

    Happy birthday! I’ll be leaving 33 behind this November. This was a fun post. Hope you had a wonderful birthday.

  9. stillstrange says:

    Happy Birthday yesterday. I used to have a Budgie too. I finally gave him to my parents after my mother taught him to say “Pretty Boy” and he got on my nerves. Plus, I’d moved out and got cats. Not a good combination.

Leave a Reply

